Jan, 2020

The Inter-Year Moot Court Competitions

Department of Law, Bangladesh University of Professionals has set the benchmark for conducting academic activities with a view to encouraging students to think out of the box and deep gaze in the arena of legal knowledge and advocacy skill. ‘The Inter-Year Moot Court Competitions' was the continuation of this motive which was held at BUP campus in Mirpur Cantonment started from 19 January to 23 January 2020.

Total 12 teams participated in this week long competition and endeavored to exhibit their legal and oratorical skills. Since the preliminary rounds, all the sessions were worth-enjoying at the same time beneficial for the audiences who were the students of the department. The preliminary and final rounds were adjudicated by the respected faculty members and experts in contract law and helped the participants to reveal different dimensions of law. 

On 23 January 2020, through a breath-taking competitive final round, the team consisting of Wakila Hussain Moumi, Mariha Mahboob and Nusrat Jahan achieved the champion title and the team consists of Tamanna Tabassum, Raihan Mohammad and Quazi Tahmid Rahman became the Runners-up team. It was held in BUP Moot Court Room presiding over by Brig Gen Saif-Ur-Rahman, psc, Dean of Faculty of Security and Strategic Studies (FSSS), Lt Col Siraj Uddin Ahmed (Retd), Chairman of Department of law, Faculty Members of law Department. The distinguished judges of final competition were Professor Dr Nakib M. Nasrullah, Asst. Prof. Md.Abu Bakar Siddique, Lec Md. Abdur Razzak.

The Dean in his speech praised this competition, inspired the fresher and all the student to take part in mooting apart from their regular curricular activities and thanked the concerned organizers to take such initiative for the law-enthusiastic fresher students. After the speech prize giving ceremony was oberserved in a befitting manner and prizes were distributed within the winners. Awards were also provided for Best Mooter to Wakila Hossain Moumi, Best emerging Mooter (male) was Syed Marzuk Shakib, Best emerging mooter (female Fabliha Mahzabin Rohman, Spirit of the moot was Munirah Jahan.